Find out more about our subscriptions

Mat Jackson secures Motorbase BTCC drive for 2014 season

Mat Jackson

Mat Jackson will return to the British Touring Car Championship grid this season at the wheel of a Motorbase Performance Ford Focus.

Jackson will take the last slot in the team alongside returning Italian Fabrizio Giovanardi and series rookie Jack Clarke.

The 32-year-old, who was runner-up in the championship in 2008 in a BMW, has driven for Motorbase since 2010.

He will be the 13th different race winner on the grid for this year's competition.

Jackson said: "I am over the moon with this - I have been working hard to raise budget all over the winter and it hasn't been easy.

"I am still looking for more, but to get the news that I will be out there is thrilling.

"Fabrizio has tested the car already and it will be interesting to see what steps have been taken since the end of last season.

"I know there is a lot of competition on the grid this season, but when I was runner-up in 2008, there was only Fabrizio in front of me. I hope we can both be in the title mix at the end of the season."

BTCC champions on 2014

Team boss David Bartrum said: "We have been talking to Mat a lot and we wanted him in the car, but it had to be in the right circumstances.

"We know that he is a winner and he will blend in perfectly with Fabrizio and Jack. He also gives us some continuity, which is important.

"It is the final piece of the jigsaw and will put us on the front foot."

Jackson was present in the series' media day at Donington Park on Tuesday to conduct the shakedown.

Confirmed 2014 British Touring Car line-up so far:

Team               	Car            	  Drivers
Eurotech           	Honda Civic    	  Andrew Jordan/Martin Depper
Honda (Team Dynamics)   Civic Tourer      Gordon Shedden/Matt Neal
MG (Triple Eight)  	MG6            	  J Plato/S Tordoff/M Hynes
Ciceley Racing     	Mercedes A-class  Adam Morgan
Motorbase Performance   Ford Focus        F Giovanardi/J Clarke/M Jackson
AmD                	Ford Focus     	  Dave Newsham
Rob Austin Racing  	Audi A4        	  Rob Austin/Hunter Abbott
Welch Motorsport   	Proton Gen-2   	  Dan Welch/Ollie Jackson
United Autosports  	Toyota Avensis 	  James Cole/Glynn Geddie
Rotek Racing       	Audi S3        	  Robb Holland
Handy Motorsport   	Toyota Avensis 	  Simon Belcher
Team BMR           	Vauxhall Insignia Jack Goff/Warren Scott
Team BMR           	VW Passat CC   	  Alain Menu/Aron Smith
WSR                	BMW 125i M Sport  C Turkington/R Collard/N Foster
Speedworks Motorsport   Toyota Avensis 	  Tom Ingram
Houseman Racing    	Toyota Avensis 	  Lea Wood
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed