Find out more about our subscriptions

Australian GP: Final starting grid

Valtteri Bottas, Australian Grand Prix

Gearbox penalties for Valtteri Bottas and Esteban Gutierrez are the only changes to the Australian Grand Prix grid line-up after 2014's first Formula 1 qualifying session.

The possibility of a much more mixed-up grid had arisen when stewards investigated fourth and fifth-placed qualifiers Kevin Magnussen and Fernando Alonso, plus world champion Sebastian Vettel, for alleged driving infringements.

But Magnussen and Vettel were both cleared of failing to slow for yellow flags, while the stewards concluded that Alonso had not impeded Gutierrez as suggested.

Sauber driver Gutierrez had only qualified 19th, so will drop to last with the applicaton of his 'five-place' gearbox change penalty after a problem on Saturday morning.

Bottas was 10th fastest and therefore falls to 15th. His Williams ran into gearbox trouble early in final practice.

The Finn's demotion helps Vettel, but the reigning F1 world champion will still only start 12th after software issues hampered him in qualifying.

His new team-mate Daniel Ricciardo qualified second, between the Mercedes of Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg.

Final Australian Grand Prix grid:

 1.  Lewis Hamilton     Mercedes
 2.  Daniel Ricciardo   Red Bull-Renault
 3.  Nico Rosberg       Mercedes
 4.  Kevin Magnussen    McLaren-Mercedes
 5.  Fernando Alonso    Ferrari
 6.  Jean-Eric Vergne   Toro Rosso-Renault
 7.  Nico Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes
 8.  Daniil Kvyat       Toro Rosso-Renault
 9.  Felipe Massa       Williams-Mercedes
10.  Jenson Button      McLaren-Mercedes
11.  Kimi Raikkonen     Ferrari
12.  Sebastian Vettel   Red Bull-Renault
13.  Adrian Sutil       Sauber-Ferrari
14.  Kamui Kobayashi    Caterham-Renault
15.  Valtteri Bottas    Williams-Mercedes*
16.  Sergio Perez       Force India-Mercedes
17.  Max Chilton        Marussia-Ferrari
18.  Jules Bianchi      Marussia-Ferrari
19.  Marcus Ericsson    Caterham-Renault
20.  Romain Grosjean    Lotus-Renault
21.  Pastor Maldonado   Lotus-Renault
22.  Esteban Gutierrez  Sauber-Ferrari*

* Gearbox change penalty
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Paddock insight from group F1 editor Jonathan Noble
Grand Prix news updates from F1 editor Edd Straw
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed