Find out more about our subscriptions

Las Vegas NASCAR: Joey Logano on pole with new lap record

Joey Logano will start the third round of the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup season from pole position after setting a new lap record at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The previous record of 28.353 seconds (190.456 mph) - set by Kasey Kahne in 2012 - was already beaten by Carl Edwards during practice before Logano broke that short-lived record in the final five-minute shootout.

The Penske Ford driver lapped the 1.5-mile speedway in 27.939s (193.278 mph) after demoting provisional poleman Brad Keselowski in the dying moments of the session.

Clint Bowyer lines up behind the all-Penske front row alongside rookie Austin Dillon, while defending series champion Jimmie Johnson completes the top five.

Edwards was unable to match his earlier pace and checked in 11th fastest, ahead of Martin Truex Jr who did well after missing the majority of the opening practice session when his engine expired.

The Stewart-Haas contingent had a difficult day with none of its four drivers making it past the second phase of qualifying.

Phoenix winner Kevin Harvick fared the best with 16th, while team-mates Danica Patrick, Kurt Busch and Tony Stewart claimed positions 22 through to 24.

Jeff Burton marked his return to the series by beating home favourite Kyle Busch to 19th, as the veteran driver begins his part-time campaign with the Michael Waltrip Racing outfit.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                 Time     Gap    
 1.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford              27.939s         
 2.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford              27.965s  +0.026s
 3.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota           28.021s  +0.082s
 4.  Austin Dillon       Childress Chevrolet      28.026s  +0.087s
 5.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet       28.038s  +0.099s
 6.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford        28.038s  +0.099s
 7.  Jamie McMurray      Ganassi Chevrolet        28.067s  +0.128s
 8.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford               28.076s  +0.137s
 9.  Brian Vickers       Waltrip Toyota           28.087s  +0.148s
10.  Ryan Newman         Childress Chevrolet      28.134s  +0.195s
11.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford        28.185s  +0.246s
12.  Martin Truex Jr     Furniture Row Ford       28.197s  +0.258s
13.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet       28.175s  Q2     
14.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet       28.181s  Q2     
15.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet       28.181s  Q2     
16.  Kevin Harvick       Stewart-Haas Chevrolet   28.184s  Q2     
17.  Kyle Larson         Ganassi Chevrolet        28.199s  Q2     
18.  AJ Allmendinger     JTG Daugherty Chevrolet  28.200s  Q2     
19.  Jeff Burton         Waltrip Toyota           28.208s  Q2     
20.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota         28.216s  Q2     
21.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet      28.282s  Q2     
22.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet   28.340s  Q2     
23.  Kurt Busch          Stewart-Haas Chevrolet   28.346s  Q2     
24.  Tony Stewart        Stewart-Haas Chevrolet   28.352s  Q2     
25.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford        28.362s  Q1     
26.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford           28.437s  Q1     
27.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota         28.456s  Q1     
28.  Cole Whitt          Swan Toyota              28.474s  Q1     
29.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota         28.522s  Q1     
30.  Casey Mears         German Chevrolet         28.532s  Q1     
31.  Josh Wise           Parsons Chevrolet        28.594s  Q1     
32.  Parker Kligerman    Swan Toyota              28.596s  Q1     
33.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford           28.619s  Q1     
34.  Trevor Bayne        Wood Brothers Ford       28.658s  Q1     
35.  Michael McDowell    Leavine Ford             28.682s  Q1     
36.  Alex Bowman         BK Toyota                28.698s  Q1     
37.  Justin Allgaier     Hscott Chevrolet         28.813s  Q1     
38.  Michael Annett      Baldwin Chevrolet        28.908s  Q1     
39.  Ryan Truex          BK Toyota                28.991s  Q1     
40.  Reed Sorenson       Baldwin Chevrolet        29.028s  Q1     
41.  Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford            29.115s  Q1     
42.  Travis Kvapil       Go FAS Ford              29.135s  Q1     
43.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford               29.922s  Q1     
Did not qualify:                                                  
     Blake Koch          Front Row Ford           28.926s  Q1    
     Landon Cassill      Hillman Chevrolet        29.000s  Q1    
     Dave Blaney         Humphrey Ford            29.010s  Q1    
     Joe Nemechek        NEMCO Toyota             29.537s  Q1    
     JJ Yeley            Cohen Chevrolet          29.827s  Q1
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Keselowski grabs win from Earnhardt