Find out more about our subscriptions

Fabian Coulthard leads Eastern Creek V8 Supercars test

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard led the V8 Supercars pre-season test day at Eastern Creek on Saturday, with two Nissans the nearest challengers to his Brad Jones Holden.

Although mixed weather conditions and the possibility of using both tyre compounds meant the results were not straightforward, the presence of Todd and Rick Kelly in second and third in the only official test was a boost for Nissan ahead of its second season.

The brothers' team-mates Michael Caruso and James Moffat were eighth and 10th in their Altimas.

Triple Eight's Craig Lowndes was fourth, with his champion team-mate Jamie Whincup 15th. James Courtney completed the top five for Holden Racing Team.

The Volvos of Robert Dahlgren and Scott McLaughlin took 17th and 19th as the S60 made its public debut.

Lee Holdsworth was the leading Erebus Mercedes driver in 14th.

Veteran Russell Ingall had been fastest in the morning session on his debut with Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport, and ended up 13th overall.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car               Time        Gap
 1.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden      1m30.4787s
 2.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                 1m31.1235s  +0.6448s
 3.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                 1m31.1590s  +0.6803s
 4.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden    1m31.4806s  +1.0019s
 5.  James Courtney       HRT Holden             1m31.5789s  +1.1002s
 6.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden           1m31.5825s  +1.1038s
 7.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden      1m31.8339s  +1.3552s
 8.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                 1m31.8850s  +1.4063s
 9.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden      1m31.8860s  +1.4073s
10.  James Moffat         Nissan                 1m31.9086s  +1.4299s
11.  Tim Slade            Walkinshaw/HRT Holden  1m32.0100s  +1.5313s
12.  Nick Percat          Rosenberg/HRT Holden   1m32.0272s  +1.5485s
13.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden        1m32.1079s  +1.6292s
14.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes        1m32.1094s  +1.6307s
15.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden    1m32.1739s  +1.6952s
16.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford               1m32.2560s  +1.7773s
17.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo              1m32.2609s  +1.7822s
18.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford               1m32.3644s  +1.8857s
19.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo              1m32.3824s  +1.9037s
20.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden             1m32.4183s  +1.9396s
21.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford    1m32.5324s  +2.0537s
22.  David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford      1m32.5814s  +2.1027s
23.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford      1m32.7479s  +2.2692s
24.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford      1m32.8920s  +2.4133s
25.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes        1m33.0345s  +2.5558s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed