Find out more about our subscriptions

Fabrizio Giovanardi returns to the BTCC with Motorbase

Double British Touring Car champion Fabrizio Giovanardi will return to the series this season, driving for Motorbase.

The 2007 and 2008 champion has not raced in the BTCC since the first round of 2010, but has committed to a full campaign in one of the Motorbase-built NGTC Ford Focuses.

"I am really looking forward to coming back," said the 47-year-old. "I need to fight for championships and this is the best place to find that.

How the BTCC got its stars back

"I want to come here and try to win another championship; I need to win the third one!"

Giovanardi confirmed that discussions with Motorbase had been ongoing for some time.

"When I stopped racing with Triple Eight I had a chat with [team boss] David Bartrum and we tried to find a deal but there wasn't the condition to do that.

"In 2008 and 2009 I had a big battle with them and Motorbase was one of the teams to beat. After four years I believe they've got good experience and they've grown up.

"They are right at this time to give me the winning chance. I believe straight away that we can be one of the team's fighting for the championship."

After a win-less 2013 season, Bartrum has signed Giovanardi as part of a push to go for the title.

"This is a very important year for us," he said. "This is going to be the one when we really underline the product we've built and Fabrizio is the man to show how it should go.

"I tried to get Fabrizio on board a couple of years ago, we've talked a lot about touring cars, and this year I decided just before Christmas that was the right way to try and go. It was something that [main sponsor] Airwaves wanted; they wanted us to up our game.

"The intentions are the same as last year, the team wants to win. There's a lot of work gone into the car over the winter."

Confirmed 2014 British Touring Car line-up so far:

Team                   Car                Drivers
Eurotech               Honda Civic        Andrew Jordan/Martin Depper
Honda (Team Dynamics)  Civic Tourer       Gordon Shedden/Matt Neal
MG (Triple Eight)      MG6                Jason Plato/Sam Tordoff/Marc Hynes
Ciceley Racing         Mercedes A-class   Adam Morgan
Motorbase Performance  Ford Focus         Fabrizio Giovanardi/TBA/TBA
AmD                    Ford Focus         Dave Newsham
Rob Austin Racing      Audi A4            Rob Austin/TBA
Welch Motorsport       Proton Gen-2       Dan Welch/Ollie Jackson
United Autosports      Toyota Avensis     James Cole/Glynn Geddie
Rotek Racing           Audi S3            Robb Holland
Handy Motorsport       Toyota Avensis     Simon Belcher
Team BMR               Vauxhall Insignia  Jack Goff
Team BMR               VW Passat CC       Alain Menu/Aron Smith

Other expected entries:
WSR (BMW 125i M Sport)
Speedworks Motorsport (Toyota Avensis)
Aiden Moffat Racing (Chevrolet Cruze)
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed