Find out more about our subscriptions

Dakar: Nasser Al-Attiyah wins stage eight, Nani Roma's lead slashed

Nasser Al-Attiyah Dakar

Nasser Al-Attiyah won his first stage of the 2014 Dakar rally as overall leader Nani Roma lost time to nearest rival Stephane Peterhansel on stage eight.

Al-Attiyah, winner of the 2011 endurance event, completed the relatively straightforward 302km run from Salta to Calama - which involved crossing from Argentina into Chile - 1m12s faster than a chasing pack led by 11-time winner Peterhansel.

Roma meanwhile finished more than eight minutes down the road after suffering two punctures on the stage.

His lead over Peterhansel was therefore slashed to just over 23 minutes.

Carlos Sainz finished the day in third, but like Al-Attiyah remains more than one hour adrift of Roma following the duo's one-hour penalties on stage five.

Giniel de Villiers, third overall, was one of the few frontrunners to lose time to Roma, coming in two seconds behind the X-Raid driver.

He now sits just 3m30s ahead of Orlando Terranova, who clocked the fourth fastest time on today's stage.

While the top order remained stable, there was movement lower down as Krzysztof Holowczyc jumped Marek Dabrowski for seventh.

Federico Villagra meanwhile started the day ninth overall and as top rookie, but lost two hours in the first checkpoint alone and tumbled out of the top 10 as a result.

The rally continues on Tuesday with competitors crossing the Atacama dunes before a severe downhill finish into Iquique.

Leading stage eight times:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time/Gap
 1.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini       2h32m57s
 2.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini         +1m12s
 3.  Carlos Sainz          SMG Buggy           +2m36s
 4.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini         +6m40s
 5.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   X-raid Mini         +7m49s
 6.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini         +9m19s
 7.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota     +9m21s
 8.  Vladimir Vasilyev     X-raid Mini        +11m59s
 9.  Bernhard Ten Brinke   Ford HRX           +13m07s
10.  Christian Lavieille   H8 Haval           +16m56s
Leading overall positions after stage eight:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time/Gap
 1.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini      29h46m08s
 2.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini        +23m46s
 3.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota    +48m25s
 4.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini        +51m55s
 5.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini      +1h09m05s
 6.  Carlos Sainz          SMG Buggy        +1h43m59s
 7.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   X-raid Mini      +2h29m22s
 8.  Marek Dabrowski       Orlen Toyota     +2h47m08s
 9.  Christian Lavieille   H8 Haval         +3h14m43s
10.  Adam Malysz           Orlen Toyota     +3h27m35s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Peterhansel frustrated by Dakar finish
Roma secures Dakar victory
Peterhansel reclaims Dakar lead
Terranova wins, Roma extends lead
Al-Attiyah wins, Sainz crashes out
Peterhansel closes in on Roma
Sainz wins, Roma keeps Dakar lead
Peterhansel begins Dakar recovery
Rider found dead on Dakar
Sainz, Al-Attiyah hit by penalties
Roma regains Dakar rally lead
Sainz moves into Dakar lead with win
Roma takes lead amid Dakar drama
Peterhansel hits front on Dakar
Sousa takes early Dakar lead