Find out more about our subscriptions

Ex-Formula 1 team Onyx reforms for World Touring Car Championship

Stefan Johansson, Onyx, Portuguese GP 1989

Mike Earle has reformed ex-Formula 1 team Onyx Racing and will embark upon the first of a five-year World Touring Car Championship programme in 2014.

The team intends to reveal its car and driver line-up 'shortly', but says it has been working on a 2014-spec project for over nine months.

Onyx Racing ran as an F1 constructor in 1989 and '90, taking a podium in its debut season when Stefan Johansson came from 12th on the grid to finish third at Estoril (pictured).

Prior to that, Onyx had claimed the 1987 Formula 3000 crown with Stefano Modena, and had come close on several other occasions while running the likes of Emanuele Pirro, Christian Danner and Thierry Tassin.

Earle, who went on to form Arena Motorsport in 1999, has now reformed Onyx in partnership with Arlington Industries Group, which has interests in automotive manufacturing.

"This association with Arlington Industries Group is exciting, there are many synergies in the goals that our core businesses seek to achieve over the next five years," Onyx CEO Earle said.

"This is a unique opportunity to assemble such a strong automotive group with the common intention of success in the finest touring car championship in the world."

Onyx's announcement pushes the number of new-regulation WTCC cars past 16.

Chevrolet will build and supply six Cruzes, Honda will construct four new Civics while both Citroen and Lada have committed to running three cars.

2014 WTCC line-up so far:

Team                 Car                  Driver(s)
Honda (JAS)          Honda Civic WTCC     G Tarquini/T Monteiro
Citroen              Citroen C-Elysee     S Loeb/Y Muller/JM Lopez
Lada                 Lada Granta          R Huff/J Thompson/M Kozlovskiy
Zengo Motorsport     Honda Civic WTCC     N Michelisz
Proteam Motorsport   Honda Civic WTCC     M Bennani
ROAL Motorsport      Chevrolet Cruze      T Coronel/T Chilton
Campos               Chevrolet Cruze      H Valente/D Borkovic
Onyx                 tba                  tba

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT