Find out more about our subscriptions

Dakar: Stephane Peterhansel hits the front on day two

Stephane Peterhansel, X-raid Mini, Dakar 2014

Stephane Peterhansel moved into the 2014 Dakar Rally lead by winning Monday's stage.

The 11-time winner had lost four minutes with a puncture on the opener on Sunday, but had a flawless run from San Luis to San Rafael on the second day.

That thrust Peterhansel's X-raid Mini from sixth overall into the lead.

He is only 28 seconds ahead of Carlos Sainz, who also gained ground on stage two having struggled for pace on Sunday in his SMG Buggy.

Peterhansel gives AUTOSPORT a ride - in the snow

Nasser Al-Attiyah is third in another X-raid Mini, four minutes off the lead.

He suffered three punctures on stage two and then had to tread carefully to the finish with no spares left, losing seven minutes to Peterhansel and Sainz. Al-Attiyah is just nine seconds ahead of team-mate Nani Roma overall.

Overnight leader Carlos Sousa's moment of glory proved very shortlived, as turbo problems dropped him out of contention on stage two.

Leading stage two times:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car              Time/Gap
 1.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini           3h52m05s
 2.  Carlos Sainz          SMG Buggy                 +46s
 3.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota         +5m34s
 4.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini             +7m25s
 5.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini             +7m44s
 6.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini            +12m41s
 7.  Ronan Chabot          SMG Buggy              +14m03s
 8.  Christian Lavieille   Haval                  +19m38s
 9.  Lucio Alvarez         Ford                   +26m00s
10.  Reinaldo Varela       Petrobras Mitsubishi   +28m06s

Leading overall positions after stage two:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car              Time/Gap
 1.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini           6h17m02s
 2.  Carlos Sainz          SMG Buggy                 +28s
 3.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     X-raid Mini             +4m10s
 4.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini             +4m19s
 5.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid Mini             +8m31s
 6.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota        +17m10s
 7.  Christian Lavieille   Haval                  +20m59s
 8.  Reinaldo Varela       Petrobras Mitsubishi   +36m00s
 9.  Krzysztof Holowczyc   X-raid Mini            +37m08s
10.  Marek Dabrowski       Orlen Toyota           +38m08s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Peterhansel frustrated by Dakar finish
Roma secures Dakar victory
Peterhansel reclaims Dakar lead
Terranova wins, Roma extends lead
Al-Attiyah wins, Sainz crashes out
Peterhansel closes in on Roma
Al-Attiyah wins, Roma's lead slashed
Sainz wins, Roma keeps Dakar lead
Peterhansel begins Dakar recovery
Rider found dead on Dakar
Sainz, Al-Attiyah hit by penalties
Roma regains Dakar rally lead
Sainz moves into Dakar lead with win
Roma takes lead amid Dakar drama
Sousa takes early Dakar lead