Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Shanghai WEC: Toyota takes pole with Alex Wurz and Nicolas Lapierre

Nicolas Lapierre and Alex Wurz take Shanghai WEC pole 2013

Toyota claimed only its second pole position of this year's World Endurance Championship at Shanghai.

Alex Wurz and Nicolas Lapierre followed up on their pole at the Silverstone season opener by setting a four-lap average of 1m48.013s aboard their Toyota TS030 HYBRID to edge out Audi drivers Marcel Fassler and Benoit Treluyer by just 0.089 seconds.

The Toyota duo had a couple of tenths in hand before Treluyer went out again at the end of the 20-minute session and improved the Audi R18 e-tron quattro's average to close to within a tenth.

Lapierre said: "Last year, this was our most competitive track and this year it looks good as well.

"It's looking better than ever before this season with two competitive cars, but we have to be careful. Benoit did a very good lap at the end."

The second Toyota, shared in qualifying by Stephane Sarrazin and Sebastien Buemi, was third, a further six tenths down on the Audi with a 1m48.694s average.

The championship-leading Audi, qualified by Allan McNish and Tom Kristensen, ended up more than a second behind its sister car in fourth place.

G-Drive/Delta-ADR drivers John Martin and Mike Conway dominated LMP2 aboard their ORECA-Nissan 03 to claim class pole by nearly eight tenths ahead of the best of the OAK Racing Morgan-Nissans shared by Olivier Pla and Alex Brundle.

Aston Martin, Shanghai WEC 2013

Aston Martin Racing took pole position in both GTE classes.

Darren Turner put in two laps in the Aston Martin Vantage GTE he shares with Stefan Mucke to leapfrog over the sister car qualified by Bruno Senna and Richie Stanaway to jump to the top of the times in the Pro division by just 0.019s.

Christoffer Nygaard and Nicki Thiim won the Am class pole by just 0.015s from the AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia shared by Marco Cioci and Matt Griffin.

Pos  Cl     Drivers                         Team/Car                Time        Gap
 1.  P1     Wurz/Lapierre                   Toyota                  1m48.013s
 2.  P1     Lotterer/Treluyer/Fassler       Audi                    1m48.102s  +0.089s
 3.  P1     Davidson/Buemi/Sarrazin         Toyota                  1m48.694s  +0.681s
 4.  P1     Kristensen/Duval/McNish         Audi                    1m49.173s  +1.160s
 5.  P1     Belicchi/Beche/Prost            Rebellion Lola-Toyota   1m51.204s  +3.191s
 6.  P2     Rusinov/Martin/Conway           Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan  1m55.423s
 7.  P2     Pla/Heinemeier Hansson/Brundle  OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m56.210s  +0.787s
 8.  P2     Shulzhitckiy/Lux/Wirdheim       Greaves Zytek-Nissan    1m56.219s  +0.796s
 9.  P2     Baguette/Gonzalez/Plowman       OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m56.243s  +0.820s
10.  P2     Graves/Kerr/Dolby               Delta-ADR ORECA-Nissan  1m56.284s  +0.861s
11.  P2     Perez Companc/Minassian/Kaffer  Pecom ORECA-Nissan      1m56.971s  +1.548s
12.  P2     Weeda/Liuzzi/Bouchut            Lotus                   1m57.531s  +2.108s
13.  P2     Holzer/Kraihamer/Charouz        Lotus                   1m57.639s  +2.216s
14.  P2     Nicolet/Ihara/Cheng             OAK Morgan-Nissan       1m59.063s  +3.640s
15.  GTE P  Turner/Mucke                    Aston Martin            2m04.370s
16.  GTE P  Lamy/Senna/Stanaway             Aston Martin            2m04.389s  +0.019s
17.  GTE P  Lieb/Lietz                      Manthey Porsche         2m04.881s  +0.511s
18.  GTE P  Kobayashi/Vilander              AF Ferrari              2m04.887s  +0.517s
19.  GTE P  Bergmeister/Pilet               Manthey Porsche         2m05.049s  +0.679s
20.  GTE P  Bruni/Fisichella                AF Ferrari              2m05.222s  +0.852s
21.  GTE A  Nygaard/Poulsen/Thiim           Aston Martin            2m05.903s
22.  GTE A  Gerber/Griffin/Cioci            AF Ferrari              2m05.918s  +0.015s
23.  GTE A  Potolicchio/Aguas/Rigon         8Star Ferrari           2m06.150s  +0.247s
24.  GTE A  Ried/Roda/Ruberti               Proton Porsche          2m06.416s  +0.513s
25.  GTE A  Narac/Vernay/Palttala           Imsa Porsche            2m06.738s  +0.835s
26.  GTE A  Campbell-Walter/Hall/Adam       Aston Martin            2m06.943s  +1.040s
27.  GTE A  Krohn/Jonsson/Mediani           Krohn Ferrari           2m07.584s  +1.681s
28.  GTE A  Bornhauser/Canal/Rees           Larbre Corvette         2m07.669s  +1.766s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
McNish, Kristensen, Duval claim title