Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Hockenheim DTM: Timo Glock scores sensational first DTM win for BMW

Glock DTM win

Timo Glock took his maiden DTM victory in a sensational season finale held on a wet, but drying track at Hockenheim.

The MTEK BMW driver started fourth, but suffered a poor getaway and made contact with fellow BMW driver Augusto Farfus that sent the Brazilian spinning on the opening lap.

Glock then flew during the opening stages of the race, passing fellow BMW men Dirk Werner and Andy Priaulx to run second, behind Bruno Spengler by the time the Canadian made his first pitstop. Glock made his first stop just nine laps before the finish, but emerged second, behind the flying Mercedes of Roberto Merhi.

Merhi had started from the back row of the grid, and served an early drivethrough penalty for jumping the start, but was the fastest man during the first half of the race in his HWA Mercedes.

The Spaniard made it up to fourth by the time most drivers had stopped for the first time, but found himself in second when, just ahead of him, Daniel Juncadella spun Mattias Ekstrom at the Spitzkehre.

While Juncadella was given a drivethrough for his indiscretion, Merhi nipped past both. But on his second set of wet tyres, Merhi struggled for grip, ceding the lead back to Glock with six laps to go at the Spitzkehre, and after dropping six seconds inside just a handful of laps, dived back into the pits for his final stop.


Merhi matched Glock's pace over the final few laps, coming home second for what is his best DTM result.

Spengler completed the podium with Ekstrom fourth in his Abt Audi and Miguel Molina fifth - a result that gave Phoenix Racing the teams' championship.

Andy Priaulx was a fine sixth in his RMG BMW, the Briton having run as high as second when the track was at its wettest early on.

In a race in which the order barely stayed static for even a lap, Christian Vietoris was a spot further back in his HWA Mercedes.

Filipe Albuquerque retired on the opening lap after contact with Robert Wickens, and the Canadian was later given a five-second stop/go penalty for an unsafe release that resulted in him nearly colliding with Joey Hand in the pitlane.

Results - 41 laps:

Pos Driver              Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1. Timo Glock          MTEK BMW        1h16m44.053s
 2. Roberto Merhi       HWA Mercedes         +2.787s
 3. Bruno Spengler      Schnitzer BMW       +10.120s
 4. Mattias Ekstrom     Abt Audi            +11.365s
 5. Miguel Molina       Phoenix Audi        +15.619s
 6. Andy Priaulx        RMG BMW             +20.922s
 7. Christian Vietoris  HWA Mercedes        +30.466s
 8. Dirk Werner         Schnitzer BMW       +31.276s
 9. Gary Paffett        HWA Mercedes        +37.027s
10. Dani Juncadella     Mucke Mercedes      +37.246s
11. Augusto Farfus      RBM BMW             +44.516s
12. Jamie Green         Abt Audi            +44.811s
13. Timo Scheider       Abt Audi            +45.503s
14. Adrien Tambay       Abt Audi            +48.966s
15. Edoardo Mortara     Rosberg Audi      +1m06.528s
16. Mike Rockenfeller   Phoenix Audi      +1m14.060s
17. Pascal Wehrlein     Mucke Mercedes    +1m19.961s
18. Robert Wickens      HWA Mercedes      +1m34.478s
19. Martin Tomczyk      RMG BMW           +1m59.697s
20. Joey Hand           RBM BMW               -1 lap
21. Marco Wittmann      MTEK BMW             -4 laps
    Filipe Albuquerque  Rosberg Audi           1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed