Find out more about our subscriptions

Phillip Island MotoGP: Lorenzo wins, Marquez disqualified

Jorge Lorenzo, Yamaha, Phillip Island MotoGP 2013

Jorge Lorenzo closed to within 18 points of MotoGP championship leader Marc Marquez by winning at Phillip Island while Marquez was black-flagged for missing the pit window.

Riders were ordered to pit to change bikes on lap nine or 10 of the shortened 19-lap race due to the tyre life concerns that had dominated the weekend following the track's resurfacing.

But Marquez stayed out for 11 laps in his first stint, leading to his disqualification a few laps later.

His Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa also made a pit error, exceeding the speed limit on entry and being ordered to drop a place.

He heeded the error by letting Marquez past just before the latter received the black flag.

Yamaha man Lorenzo had led from the start under huge pressure from both Hondas.

A slight mistake from the leader on lap one took Marquez wide as well and let Pedrosa slip into the lead, but only for one corner before Lorenzo muscled back through and brought Marquez with him.

Pedrosa was the first of the lead trio to pit at the end of lap nine, but he appeared not to slow in time for the revised speed limit line.

Lorenzo came out just in front after his pitstop a lap later, while Marquez inexplicably stayed out.

He finally pitted after lap 11, rejoining right alongside Lorenzo, with minor contact between them shoving Marquez wide and down to third.

Crutchlow Smith

After Marquez's black flag, Lorenzo pulled clear of Pedrosa to take a win that revitalised the championship battle.

Valentino Rossi claimed third in a near-photo-finish with Cal Crutchlow and Alvaro Bautista after a fraught battle that ended with all three covered by 0.169 seconds.

Bradley Smith briefly ran fourth after a superb start, before falling back to sixth.

Nicky Hayden was top Ducati in seventh, as Pramac's Andrea Iannone beat the second factory Desmosedici of Andrea Dovizioso to eighth.

Randy de Puniet topped CRT in 10th for Aspar.

Results - 19 laps:

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike               Time/Gap
 1.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                29m07.155s
 2.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                    +6.936s
 3.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                  +12.344s
 4.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha           +12.460s
 5.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda           +12.513s
 6.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha           +28.263s
 7.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                  +32.953s
 8.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati           +35.062s
 9.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                  +35.104s
10.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia           +37.426s
11.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia           +46.099s
12.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki    +48.149s
13.  Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati           +49.911s
14.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki    +49.998s
15.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW          +58.718s
16.  Luca Scassa       Cardion Aprilia         +58.791s
17.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  +1m08.105s
18.  Michael Laverty   PBM Aprilia           +1m27.230s
19.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        +1m31.093s
20.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki      +1 lap
21.  Damian Cudlin     PBM-Aprilia              +2 laps


     Marc Marquez      Honda                        DSQ
     Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda            DSQ
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Lorenzo on pole despite seagull clash
Pedrosa hits front in final practice
Lorenzo flies as Hondas hit trouble
Lorenzo edges Marquez in practice one