Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 15 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Silverstone BTCC: Jason Plato fends off Andrew Jordan to win again

Jason Plato wins Silverstone BTCC race 2013

Jason Plato scored his second British Touring Car Championship victory of the day at Silverstone, and the 80th of his career, but only after a pulsating duel with series leader Andrew Jordan.

Plato led from pole position, and knew he was in for a tougher time carrying 45kg of success ballast.

Colin Turkington made his trademark flying start in the rear-wheel-drive WSR BMW, and got alongside Plato's Triple Eight MG6 at Copse from the second row.

Turkington tried to brave it around the outside at Becketts, but Plato clung on, and this allowed Tordoff to get a run on the compromised Turkington.

But Tordoff got a biff from Turkington's team-mate Rob Collard moments later at Brooklands. Collard was not long for the race due to an electrical issue.

The safety car was then required to clear up the crashed cars of Frank Wrathall, Rob Austin and Tom Onslow-Cole.

At the restart, Plato led Turkington, but Tordoff made it an MG one-two when he passed Turkington through Woodcote.

The man to watch was Jordan, who opted to start his Eurotech Honda on the soft-compound tyres. He had already zapped past Matt Neal at Becketts, and followed Tordoff past Turkington.

He passed Tordoff at Becketts on lap 11, and closed down Plato's two-second lead as the race entered the closing stages.

In a fantastic battle for the win, Jordan put his title bid on the line by attacking Plato for the lead, nosing ahead at Becketts, but only for Plato to battle back.

Jason Plato wins Silverstone BTCC race 2013

They touched at Luffield, as Plato inched his MG back inside the Honda, and they brushed door handles again through Woodcote as Plato made the move stick.

Plato emerged triumphant to further extend his winning record in the series, crossing the line a couple of tenths ahead of Jordan, who had Aron Smith's Motorbase Ford Focus, also on soft tyres, right behind him at the finish.

Tordoff was a distant fourth, well clear of Turkington.

Works Honda duo Neal and Gordon Shedden were sixth and seventh.

Results - 25 laps:

Pos  Driver            Team/Car             Time/Gap
 1.  Jason Plato       MG                 26m52.786s
 2.  Andrew Jordan     Eurotech Honda        +0.244s
 3.  Aron Smith        Motorbase Ford        +0.410s
 4.  Sam Tordoff       MG                    +2.064s
 5.  Colin Turkington  WSR BMW               +4.818s
 6.  Matt Neal         Honda                 +7.314s
 7.  Gordon Shedden    Honda                 +7.525s
 8.  Dave Newsham      Speedworks Toyota     +7.780s
 9.  Daniel Welch      Welch Proton          +9.626s
10.  Mat Jackson       Motorbase Ford       +12.553s
11.  Howard Fuller     Hard VW              +17.858s
12.  Will Bratt        Austin Audi          +20.537s
13.  Nick Foster       WSR BMW              +21.038s
14.  Aiden Moffat      Hard VW              +24.925s
15.  Jack Goff         Hard Vauxhall        +29.899s
16.  Lea Wood          Wood Vauxhall        +32.937s*
17.  Andy Neate        IP Chevrolet         +38.057s


     Liam Griffin      Motorbase Ford        22 laps*
     Adam Morgan       Ciceley Toyota        10 laps
     Ollie Jackson     Speedworks Toyota      7 laps
     Rob Collard       WSR BMW                2 laps
     Warren Scott      BMR VW                 2 laps
     Tom Onslow-Cole   Motorbase Ford          1 lap
     Rob Austin        Austin Audi            0 laps
     Frank Wrathall    Dynojet Toyota         0 laps
     Jeff Smith        Eurotech Honda            DNS

* S2000
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Shedden wins to keep title bid alive
Plato dominates Silverstone race one
Plato leads MG one-two at Silverstone
Plato leads way in Silverstone practice