Find out more about our subscriptions

Zandvoort European F3: Daniil Kvyat tops free practice

Daniil KvyatRed Bull junior Daniil Kvyat continued his form as the free practice specialist in the Formula 3 European Championship by topping 80 minutes of running at Zandvoort.

The Russian shot his Carlin Dallara-Volkswagen to the head of the times during the final 15 minutes to beat his team-mate, newly crowned British F3 champion Jordan King, by 0.211 seconds.

Title contender and Zandvoort expert Felix Rosenqvist, twice a winner of the Masters of F3 at the Dutch circuit, topped the first 40-minute period and was third best in the second, quicker session in his Mucke Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes.

Next up were Harry Tincknell, making it three Carlin drivers in the top four, and EuroInternational's Red Bull protege Tom Blomqvist.

Lucas Auer topped the Prema Powerteam challenge by edging team-mate Alex Lynn for sixth, although championship leader Raffaele Marciello - who missed this year's Masters - was down in 11th.

Completing the top 10 were Felix Serralles (Fortec), Antonio Giovinazzi (Double R) and local hero Dennis van de Laar (Van Amersfoort).

As usual, drivers were running different tyre strategies. Both T-Sport/ThreeBond runner Alexander Sims and Van Amersfoort newcomer Sven Muller set times in the first session that would have put them comfortably in the top 10 in the second.

The first period was stopped briefly for an incident to Jann Mardenborough, who rejoined the track after the stoppage, while the second was halted with a couple of minutes remaining.

Pos Driver               Team/Car                       Time       Gap     Laps
 1. Daniil Kvyat         Carlin Dallara-VW              1m31.006s           17
 2. Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW              1m31.217s  +0.211s  16
 3. Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Merc             1m31.395s  +0.389s  16
 4. Harry Tincknell      Carlin Dallara-VW              1m31.473s  +0.467s  19
 5. Tom Blomqvist        EuroInternational Dallara-Merc 1m31.589s  +0.583s  14
 6. Lucas Auer           Prema Dallara-Merc             1m31.602s  +0.596s  10
 7. Alex Lynn            Prema Dallara-Merc             1m31.684s  +0.678s  14
 8. Felix Serralles      Fortec Dallara-Merc            1m31.800s  +0.794s  19
 9. Antonio Giovinazzi   Double R Dallara-Merc          1m31.821s  +0.815s  15
10. Dennis van de Laar   Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW      1m31.845s  +0.839s  22
11. Raffaele Marciello   Prema Dallara-Merc             1m31.846s  +0.840s  14
12. Jann Mardenborough   Carlin Dallara-VW              1m31.868s  +0.862s  18
13. Pipo Derani          Fortec Dallara-Merc            1m31.897s  +0.891s  16
14. Sven Muller          Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW      1m31.920s  +0.914s  15
15. Nicholas Latifi      Carlin Dallara-VW              1m31.930s  +0.924s  18
16. Alexander Sims       T-Sport Dallara-Nissan         1m31.950s  +0.944s  16
17. Michael Lewis        Mucke Dallara-Merc             1m32.157s  +1.151s  15
18. Eddie Cheever        Prema Dallara-Merc             1m32.236s  +1.230s  16
19. Andre Rudersdorf     Ma-Con Dallara-VW              1m32.422s  +1.416s  18
20. Mitchell Gilbert     Mucke Dallara-Merc             1m32.594s  +1.588s  15
21. Lucas Wolf           URD Dallara-Merc               1m32.683s  +1.677s  14
22. Sean Gelael          Double R Dallara-Merc          1m32.692s  +1.686s  13
23. Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-Nissan         1m32.789s  +1.783s  11
24. Alfonso Celis        Fortec Dallara-Merc            1m33.137s  +2.131s  19
25. Tatiana Calderon     Double R Dallara-Merc          1m33.337s  +2.331s  19
26. Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Merc             1m34.139s  +3.133s   5
27. Sandro Zeller        Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc         1m34.719s  +3.713s   9

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT