Find out more about our subscriptions

Sandown V8s: Jamie Whincup beats team-mate Craig Lowndes to victory

Jamie Whincup passed Triple Eight team-mate Craig Lowndes with 10 laps to go to win the Sandown 500 for himself and co-driver Paul Dumbrell.

Whincup and Dumbrell had controlled several stages of the race, with Dumbrell dominating the early running in particular, but a pitlane penalty gave them work to do.

A late call to change drivers at a pitstop led to Dumbrell knocking the Holden back into gear as he hurriedly jumped out, resulting in a penalty for spinning the car's wheels during a stop.

Lowndes and partner Warren Luff had an eventful race too, getting delayed when they had to queue behind the sister car in an early safety car pitstop, then when a punt from Andrew Thompson sent Luff off the road.

The Triple Eight cars worked their way back to the front by the final stint, with Whincup overtaking Lowndes late on and pulling away to secure victory by eight seconds.

Strategic miscues and pitstop problems marred Ford Performance Racing's victory bid.

The polesitting Will Davison/Steve Owen car made it home third despite oil mist swirling behind in the closing laps.

Had the wilting Falcon expired, the Erebus Mercedes would have got its first podium.

Fourth place was still the new car's best result, as Lee Holdsworth - who shared with Craig Baird - hunted Davison down in the run to the flag.

James Courtney and Greg Murphy were fifth for Holden Racing Team.

The second FPR car of Mark Winterbottom and Steve Richards stalled on the line, had a very slow last pitstop due to a wheel issue, and finally ended up sixth.

Results - 161 laps:

Pos Driver/Co-driver                Car                             Time/Gap
 1. Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell     Triple Eight Holden        3m23m54.2584s
 2. Craig Lowndes/Warren Luff       Triple Eight Holden             +8.1878s
 3. Will Davison/Steve Owen         FPR Ford                       +17.9423s
 4. Lee Holdswort/Craig Baird       Erebus Mercedes                +18.9127s
 5. James Courtney/Greg Murphy      HRT Holden                     +26.1506s
 6. M.Winterbottom/Steven Richards  FPR Ford                       +26.5165s
 7. Fabian Coulthard/Luke Youlden   Brad Jones Holden              +31.2460s
 8. Scott McLaughlin/Jack Perkins   GRM Holden                     +33.3082s
 9. Russell Ingall/Ryan Briscoe     Walkinshaw/HRT Holden          +38.5256s
10. Alexandre Premat/Greg Ritter    GRM Holden                     +49.8806s
11. Todd Kelly/David Russell        Nissan                         +51.8083s
12. S.van Gisbergen/J.Bleekemolen   Tekno Holden                   +59.6380s
13. Jonathon Webb/Marc Lieb         Tekno Holden                 +1m00.5566s
14. Chaz Mostert/Dale Wood          Dick Johnson Ford            +1ml9.6815s
15. Alex Davison/John McIntyre      Schwerkolt/FPR Ford               +1 lap
16. Rick Kelly/Karl Reindler        Nissan                            +1 lap
17. David Reynolds/Dean Canto       Rod Nash/FPR Ford                 +1 lap
18. Dean Fiore/Matthew Halliday     Dumbrell Holden                   +1 lap
19. David Wall/Chris Pither         Britek/BJR Holden                 +1 lap
20. Michael Caruso/Daniel Gaunt     Nissan                            +1 lap
21. Tim Slade/Andrew Thompson       Rosenberg/Erebus Mercedes        +2 laps
22. Garth Tander/Nick Percat        HRT Holden                       +9 laps
23. Tony D'Alberto/Jonny Reid       D'Alberto Holden                 +9 laps
24. Jason Bright/Andrew Jones       Brad Jones Holden               +14 laps
25. Maro Engel/Steven Johnson       Erebus Mercedes                 +18 laps
26. James Moffat/Taz Douglas        Nissan                          +38 laps


    Scott Pye/Paul Morris           Dumbrell Holden  135 laps
    Ashley Walsh                    Ford              33 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Davison earns Sandown pole with win