Find out more about our subscriptions

Earnhardt Ganassi picks Kyle Larson for Juan Pablo Montoya's seat

Kyle Larson and Chip Ganassi

Kyle Larson will replace Juan Pablo Montoya at Earnhardt Ganassi for the 2014 NASCAR Sprint Cup season.

Montoya and EGR announced earlier this month that they would end their partnership after seven years.

EGR signed Larson to a development deal last season as he stepped up to the NASCAR Truck Series following a glittering sprint car career.

He is currently in his rookie season in Nationwide.

"We believe that Kyle is the future of this sport," said team boss Chip Ganassi.

"He's a unique talent. Let me be very clear that this is a racing decision. We felt Kyle was the best short and long-term future for the team."

Several drivers were linked to the EGR seat once news of Montoya's exit broke, but Ganassi said Larson was the only option the team had seriously considered.

"Kyle was our first choice, we did not offer any deals to any other drivers," he said.

"We're thrilled to have Kyle and nothing he's done makes us feel he can't handle the move to the Sprint Cup series.

"For sure there are going to be growing pains, but we think he's ready."

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT