Find out more about our subscriptions

Knockhill BTCC: Colin Turkington thrown out of race three

Colin Turkington, WSR BMW, Knockhill BTCC 2013

Colin Turkington, the winner of two British Touring Car Championship races at Knockhill this weekend, has been kicked out of his fourth placed finish in race three.

The WSR BMW man finished just outside of the podium positions but post-race technical checks found that the engine of the two-litre turbocharged hatchback had been overboosting during the course of the 26-lap race.

It means he has been stripped of the 13 points he had earned.

The amended result moves Rob Austin up to fourth position in his Audi A4.

It also means that Northern Irishman Turkington drops from third to fourth in the race for this year's championship.

Revised results - 26 laps:

Pos  Driver            Team/Car               Time/Gap
 1.  Andrew Jordan     Eurotech Honda       24m04.003s
 2.  Matt Neal         Honda                   +3.962s
 3.  Rob Collard       WSR BMW                 +4.440s
 4.  Rob Austin        Austin Audi             +9.206s
 5.  Jason Plato       MG                     +12.782s
 6.  Daniel Welch      Welch Proton           +15.899s
 7.  Mat Jackson       Motorbase Ford         +16.450s
 8.  Nick Foster       WSR BMW                +16.646s
 9.  Adam Morgan       Ciceley Toyota         +16.967s
10.  Will Bratt        Austin Audi            +27.162s
11.  Ollie Jackson     Speedworks Toyota      +27.969s
12.  Lea Wood          Wood Vauxhall            +1 lap
13.  Kieran Gallagher  Hard Vauxhall            +1 lap
14.  David Nye         Welch Ford               +1 lap
15.  Aron Smith        Motorbase Ford           +1 lap


     Paul O'Neill      Hard Vauxhall           19 laps
     Liam Griffin      Motorbase Ford          18 laps
     Gordon Shedden    Honda                   16 laps
     Tom Onslow-Cole   Hard VW                 12 laps
     Mike Bushell      IP Chevrolet            12 laps
     Dave Newsham      Speedworks Toyota       12 laps
     Warren Scott      BMR VW                   2 laps
     Frank Wrathall    Dynojet Toyota            1 lap
     Aiden Moffat      Finesse Chevrolet        0 laps
     Sam Tordoff       MG                       0 laps
     Colin Turkington  WSR BMW                     DSQ
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Jordan closes points gap with victory
Turkington wins again in race two
Turkington dominates opening race
Austin grabs Knockhill pole
Shedden fastest in Knockhill practice