Find out more about our subscriptions

Michigan NASCAR: Joey Logano sets record pole

Joey Logano celebrates Michigan NASCAR Sprint Cup pole 2013

Joey Logano claimed pole for Sunday's NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Michigan with a blistering lap at 203.949mph.

Practice hinted that record speeds were in prospect, and top three qualifiers Logano, Kurt Busch and Jimmie Johnson all beat the previous mark with their laps.

Busch was on provisional pole for a few more moments before being deposed by Penske driver Logano's 35.303-second effort.

Johnson had been fastest in morning practice, but cloud cover had given way to bright sunshine by the time he ran and third was the best he could do.

Provisional pole had changed hands repeatedly in a busy mid-qualifying spell, and veterans Mark Martin and Jeff Burton each held it briefly before Logano and Busch's runs. Martin and Burton stayed near the front in fourth and fifth.

In the week that his impending departure from Earnhardt Ganassi was announced, Juan Pablo Montoya was on provisional pole for the first quarter of the session and ended up sixth.

Dale Earnhardt Jr, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch completed the top 10.

Austin Dillon qualified 27th while standing in for the injured Tony Stewart at Stewart-Haas.

The race attracted 44 entrants, leaving Landon Cassill outside the qualifying cut.

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                     Time     Gap
 1.  Joey Logano         Penske Ford                  35.303s
 2.  Kurt Busch          Furniture Row Chevrolet      35.347s  +0.044s
 3.  Jimmie Johnson      Hendrick Chevrolet           35.386s  +0.083s
 4.  Mark Martin         Waltrip Toyota               35.430s  +0.127s
 5.  Jeff Burton         Childress Chevrolet          35.448s  +0.145s
 6.  Juan Pablo Montoya  Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  35.470s  +0.167s
 7.  Dale Earnhardt Jr   Hendrick Chevrolet           35.500s  +0.197s
 8.  Denny Hamlin        Joe Gibbs Toyota             35.503s  +0.200s
 9.  Brad Keselowski     Penske Ford                  35.516s  +0.213s
10.  Kyle Busch          Joe Gibbs Toyota             35.576s  +0.273s
11.  Clint Bowyer        Waltrip Toyota               35.590s  +0.287s
12.  Matt Kenseth        Joe Gibbs Toyota             35.603s  +0.300s
13.  Jeff Gordon         Hendrick Chevrolet           35.623s  +0.320s
14.  Aric Almirola       Petty Ford                   35.679s  +0.376s
15.  Kevin Harvick       Childress Chevrolet          35.707s  +0.404s
16.  Greg Biffle         Roush Fenway Ford            35.716s  +0.413s
17.  Martin Truex Jr     Waltrip Toyota               35.716s  +0.413s
18.  Trevor Bayne        Wood Brothers Ford           35.761s  +0.458s
19.  Carl Edwards        Roush Fenway Ford            35.815s  +0.512s
20.  Paul Menard         Childress Chevrolet          35.868s  +0.565s
21.  Ryan Newman         Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       35.890s  +0.587s
22.  Ricky Stenhouse Jr  Roush Fenway Ford            35.890s  +0.587s
23.  David Gilliland     Front Row Ford               35.907s  +0.604s
24.  David Ragan         Front Row Ford               35.953s  +0.650s
25.  David Reutimann     BK Toyota                    35.968s  +0.665s
26.  Marcos Ambrose      Petty Ford                   36.001s  +0.698s
27.  Austin Dillon       Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       36.003s  +0.700s
28.  Danica Patrick      Stewart-Haas Chevrolet       36.056s  +0.753s
29.  Jamie McMurray      Earnhardt Ganassi Chevrolet  36.087s  +0.784s
30.  Bobby Labonte       JTG Daugherty Toyota         36.212s  +0.909s
31.  Kasey Kahne         Hendrick Chevrolet           36.381s  +1.078s
32.  Scott Speed         Leavine Ford                 36.418s  +1.115s
33.  Casey Mears         Germain Ford                 36.424s  +1.121s
34.  Timmy Hill          FAS Lane Ford                36.543s  +1.240s
35.  JJ Yeley            Baldwin Chevrolet            36.546s  +1.243s
36.  David Stremme       Swan Toyota                  36.552s  +1.249s
37.  Joe Nemechek        NEMCO Toyota                 36.582s  +1.279s
38.  Travis Kvapil       BK Toyota                    36.707s  +1.404s
39.  Brendan Gaughan     Phoenix Chevrolet            36.795s  +1.492s
40.  Josh Wise           Front Row Ford               36.808s  +1.505s
41.  Johnny Sauter       Parsons Ford                 36.889s  +1.586s
42.  Dave Blaney         Baldwin Chevrolet            37.010s  +1.707s
43.  Scott Riggs         Humphrey Smith Toyota        37.234s  +1.931s
44.  Landon Cassill      Circle Sport Chevrolet       37.378s  +2.031s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Logano takes first win with Penske
Practice crash drops Johnson to last