Find out more about our subscriptions

Spa British F3: Jordan King survives Will Buller scrap to win

Jordan King wins Spa British F3 race 2013Jordan King held off a fierce challenge from Will Buller to win the second race of the British Formula 3 International Series weekend at Spa.

King took the lead of this reversed-grid race at half-distance from Antonio Giovinazzi, who left his braking too late at the Bus Stop chicane.

As the Italian struggled for traction on exit, King swept past into La Source, but then had to defend a challenge from Giovinazzi into Eau Rouge before racing into the lead.

Giovinazzi's loss of momentum allowed Buller, who had been down in fifth on the opening lap, to get past, and the Northern Irishman gradually inched closer to King.

A last-corner tap from Buller at the Bus Stop did not unsettle King, who therefore took his and the Carlin team's second win of the British F3 season.

King, who had scorched from seventh to second on the opening lap, said: "I picked up a lot of places at La Source and then got Tatiana Calderon for second quite quickly.

"When I got past Antonio, unfortunately he lost a lot of time and that allowed Will to attack me."

The race again took place on a wet track, although the sun was out from halfway through.

Giovinazzi felt his tyres fading and settled for third, comfortably ahead of Calderon, Sean Gelael and Jann Mardenborough, whose Carlin mechanics did a great job to repair the car in time for this race.

Jordan Oon led the National Class for the first four laps before Sun Zheng got ahead to take his second win of the weekend.

Meanwhile, Nicholas Latifi did not start the race as a result of damage sustained in his enormous accident with Mardenborough in race one.

Results - 12 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Jordan King         Carlin Dallara-VW        32m19.421s
 2.  Will Buller         Fortec Dallara-Merc         +0.538s
 3.  Antonio Giovinazzi  Double R Dallara-Merc       +9.752s
 4.  Tatiana Calderon    Double R Dallara-Merc      +12.748s
 5.  Sean Gelael         Double R Dallara-Merc      +16.371s
 6.  Jann Mardenborough  Carlin Dallara-VW          +21.986s
 7.  Felipe Guimaraes    Fortec Dallara-Merc        +52.484s
 8.  Sun Zheng           CF Dallara-Mugen         +1m21.895s
 9.  Jordan Oon          West-Tec Dallara-Toyota  +1m33.126s
10.  Chris Vlok          West-Tec Dallara-Toyota  +1m34.180s


     Nicholas Latifi     Carlin Dallara-VW               DNS
British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Mardenborough punished for clash
Giovinazzi fends off Mardenborough
Latifi will make race three after crash
Buller wins as Mardenborough rolls
Latifi claims two Spa British F3 poles
Latifi ends Spa F3 practice on top