Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Spielberg FR3.5: Marco Sorensen takes first win of 2013

Spielberg FR3.5 2013Marco Sorensen took his first Formula Renault 3.5 win of the season in dominant style at Spielberg on Saturday.

The Danish driver controlled the race from start to finish, and comfortably dealt with two restarts after safety car periods to take a four-second victory ahead of Nigel Melker.

Melker, who was unable to judge when Sorensen would restart on both occasions and fell back, made relatively easy work of pulling away from Kevin Magnussen, who retook the championship lead with a lonely third place after being passed by Melker on the opening lap.

Fourth-placed Will Stevens was the closest of Magnussen's title chasers, as Stoffel Vandoorne and Antonio Felix da Costa had a day to forget.

Vandoorne was lucky to start the race after his car developed a water leak before the start, but after getting barged down the order in the early laps he was eventually forced to retire.

Da Costa at least made it to the finish, but he struggled for pace throughout with an overheating engine and came home a distant seventh.

Things could have got even worse for the Red Bull junior in the closing laps, as Sorensen's Lotus (Charouz) team-mate Marlon Stockinger was closing on da Costa towards the end of the race.

However, Stockinger's progress was halted when the lapped car of Christopher Zanella inexplicably lunged down the inside of him into Turn 1, and then aggressively blocked him on the run to Turn 2.

Zanella received a 10-second penalty for exceeding track limits after the incident, but that did little to help Stockinger close back up to da Costa.

Results - 33 laps:

Pos Driver                  Team               Time/Gap
 1. Marco Sorensen          Lotus             46m36.415s
 2. Nigel Melker            Tech 1              +4.420s
 3. Kevin Magnussen         DAMS                +9.065s
 4. Will Stevens            P1/Strakka          +14.629s
 5. Arthur Pic              AV                  +17.511s
 6. Will Buller             Zeta Corse          +20.107s
 7. Antonio Felix da Costa  Arden Caterham      +21.411s
 8. Marlon Stockinger       Lotus               +25.752s
 9. Andre Negrao            Draco               +27.269s
10. Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin              +28.190s
11. Zoel Amberg             Pons                +34.231s
12. Lucas Foresti           Comtec              +39.229s
13. Nico Muller             Draco               +42.355s
14. Daniil Move             Comtec              +56.612s
15. Yann Cunha              AV                  +1m01.802s
16. Christopher Zanella     ISR                 +1 lap


    Matias Laine            P1/Strakka          15 laps
    Sergey Sirotkin         ISR                 11 laps
    Norman Nato             DAMS                11 laps
    Carlos Huertas          Carlin              11 laps
    Stoffel Vandoorne       Fortec              11 laps
    Riccardo Agostini       Zeta Corse          8  laps
    Pietro Fantin           Arden Caterham      0  laps
    Mikhail Aleshin         Tech 1              0  laps
    Nikolay Martsenko       Pons                0  laps

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Sorensen completes Spielberg double
Sorensen claims another pole
Sorensen beats Magnussen to pole
Magnussen and Sirotkin top practice