Find out more about our subscriptions

IndyCar squad Andretti Autosport to field a team in Formula E

Toro Rosso STR5

Leading IndyCar team Andretti Autosport will field a team in Formula E.

The squad, run by 1991 CART IndyCar champion Michael Andretti, has taken Tony Kanaan, Dan Wheldon, Dario Franchitti and last year's title winner Ryan Hunter-Reay to IndyCar crowns and won the Indianapolis 500 with both Wheldon and Franchitti.

Andretti joins the Drayson and China teams among the first of the 10 outfits expected for Formula E's inaugural season in 2014.

"It's an honour for Andretti Autosport to have been selected as one of the 10 founding Formula E teams for the inaugural season," said Michael Andretti.

"I look forward to further exploring the series and helping build the future of open-wheel racing across the world."

The motorsport revolution starts here

Formula E chief Alejandro Agag added: "We are absolutely delighted to welcome Andretti Autosport to the series; a team with an incredible racing pedigree and track record who I have no doubt is going to make a big contribution to the FIA Formula E Championship.

IndyCar Andretti Autosport Formula E"It's fantastic too for such a highly-established outfit to show its commitment to sustainable motoring and with two US races on the inaugural calendar - Los Angeles and Miami - I'm sure American motorsport fans will have a lot to cheer come race day."

Andretti also hinted to the Associated Press that his IndyCar drivers could be involved in the Formula E programme.

The team currently fields Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe and EJ Viso.

Formula E's first season will run from September 2014 to June '15, running entirely on street circuits, including one in London. Berlin was unveiled as the final venue on the calendar last week.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT