Find out more about our subscriptions

Zandvoort FIA GT: Sebastien Loeb McLaren on pole with Parente

Loeb McLaren, Zandvoort FIA GT 2013Alvaro Parente claimed pole position for the Sebastien Loeb Racing McLaren squad for the third round of the FIA GT Series at Zandvoort.

The McLaren factory driver took pole with a 1m37.923s lap aboard the lead Loeb MP4-12C, which put him just six one hundreths ahead of Andreas Simonsen in the fastest of the Gravity Charouz Mercedes.

Parente admitted surprise that he had qualified on pole after his car had languished down in 10th and eighth positions in the two free practice sessions on Friday.

"After yesterday, we weren't very confident," said the Portuguese, who shares the McLaren with rally legend Sebastien Loeb. "We were surprised to do that lap time.

"The lap went very well; I think I got the maximum out of the car."

Simonsen took pole in the Pro-Am class in the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG he shares with Sergei Afanasiev.

The Swede edged out WRT Audi driver Laurens Vanthoor by a further one hundredth.

Fourth place when to Alon Day in the Gravity Charouz Pro class car, with Rene Rast fifth in the second of the trio of WRT Audi R8 LMS ultras.

Race one will be streamed live on AUTOSPORT at 1145 GMT.

Pos  Drivers             Team/Car                  Time       Gap
 1.  Loeb/Parente        Loeb McLaren              1m37.923s
 2.  Afanasiev/Simonsen  Gravity Charouz Mercedes  1m37.986s  +0.063s
 3.  Ortelli/Vanthoor    WRT Audi                  1m38.001s  +0.078s
 4.  Buhk/Day            Gravity Charouz Mercedes  1m38.101s  +0.178s
 5.  Mayr-Melnhof/Rast   WRT Audi                  1m38.455s  +0.532s
 6.  Salaquarda/Onidi    AF Ferrari                1m38.491s  +0.568s
 7.  Bueno/Khodair       Brasil BMW                1m38.720s  +0.797s
 8.  Sandstrom/Stippler  WRT Audi                  1m38.735s  +0.812s
 9.  Proczyk/Baumann     Grasser Lamborghini       1m38.753s  +0.830s
10.  Kumpen/Ide          Phoenix Audi              1m39.129s  +1.206s
11.  Ordonez/Buncombe    RJN Nissan                Q2
12.  Campanico/Vieira    Novadriver Audi           Q2
13.  Zonta/Jimenez       Brasil BMW                Q2
14.  Parisy/Zuber        Loeb McLaren              Q2
15.  Shulzhitskiy/Reip   RJN Nissan                Q2
16.  Chandhok/Seyffarth  Seyffarth Mercedes        Q2
17.  Ebrahim/Heemskerk   India BMW                 Q2
18.  Cunha/Stumpf        Rodrive Lamborghini       Q2
19.  Braams/Huisman      V8 Corvette               Q2
20.  Charouz/Stovicek    Gravity Charouz Mercedes  Q2
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Buhk/Day give Mercedes first '13 win
Ortelli/Vanthoor win FIA GT thriller