Find out more about our subscriptions

Donington Park BTCC: Gordon Shedden claims first victory of 2013

Donington Park BTCC podium 2013Gordon Shedden got his British Touring Car title defence under way with victory in the first race at Donington Park.

Shedden had a torrid time at the Brands Hatch season opener, but the works Honda driver had no success ballast heading into Donington and duly qualified on pole.

Although not making the best start, Shedden held on to his advantage and led every lap, withstanding late-race pressure from the Eurotech Civic of Andrew Jordan, which was carrying 36kg of ballast.

Like Jordan, Matt Neal was able to jump front-row starter Frank Wrathall (Dynojet Toyota Avensis) out of Redgate on the opening lap, but he was unable to stay with the leading Civics.

Jason Plato's works MG, which started fifth, dived by Wrathall into Redgate on lap two and gradually closed on Neal.

Plato put his arch rival under pressure, but could not prevent a Honda 1-2-3.

Behind, Wrathall fell back into a fight between Sam Tordoff's MG and the Ciceley Racing Toyota of Adam Morgan.

Tordoff made it by Wrathall, only for them to both run wide at the Old Hairpin and allow Morgan to jump to fifth.

Tordoff repassed Wrathall but could not unseat the impressive Morgan from fifth.

James KayeColin Turkington was eighth in the first of the WSR BMWs, ahead of Dave Newsham (Speedworks Toyota) and Jeff Smith's Eurotech Civic, which recovered from a poor first lap to complete the top 10.

Both Motorbase Ford Focuses started on the soft tyre, and Aron Smith overcame team-mate Mat Jackson to be the first softs-shod runner home in 11th.

James Kaye's AmD VW Golf led the S2000 class for the Jack Sears Trophy throughout, holding off the occasional threat from Liam Griffin's Motorbase Focus.

Race 1 - 16 laps:

Pos  Driver            Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Gordon Shedden    Honda                    19m04.814s
 2.  Andrew Jordan     Eurotech Honda             + 0.426s
 3.  Matt Neal         Honda                      + 5.177s
 4.  Jason Plato       MG                         + 6.535s
 5.  Adam Morgan       Ciceley Toyota             + 8.759s
 6.  Sam Tordoff       MG                         + 9.200s
 7.  Frank Wrathall    Dynojet Toyota            + 10.247s
 8.  Colin Turkington  WSR BMW                   + 11.079s
 9.  Dave Newsham      Speedworks Toyota         + 13.020s
10.  Jeff Smith        Eurotech Honda            + 20.187s
11.  Aron Smith        Motorbase Ford            + 20.957s
12.  Mat Jackson       Motorbase Ford            + 22.486s
13.  Tom Onslow-Cole   HARD VW                   + 24.205s
14.  Rob Austin        Austin Audi               + 27.799s
15.  Rob Collard       WSR BMW                   + 28.175s
16.  Ollie Jackson     Speedworks Toyota         + 29.699s
17.  Nick Foster       WSR BMW                   + 36.211s
18.  Jack Goff         HARD Vauxhall             + 36.579s
19.  James Kaye        AmD VW*                   + 36.985s
20.  Liam Griffin      Motorbase Ford*           + 37.900s
21.  Joe Girling       Finesse Chevrolet*        + 45.665s
22.  James Cole        HARD Vauxhall             + 46.862s
23.  David Nye         Welch Ford*               + 47.098s
24.  Lea Wood          Wood Vauxhall*            + 47.920s
25.  Will Bratt        Austin Audi               + 58.161s
26.  Warren Scott      BMR SEAT*               + 1m04.888s


     Daniel Welch      Welch Proton                11 laps

* S2000
Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Turkington gives new BMW first win
Jordan triumphs in race two
Shedden denies Wrathall pole
Jordan fastest in Donington practice