Find out more about our subscriptions

Barber Indy Lights: Carlos Munoz dominates processional race

Carlos Munoz wins Barber Indy Lights race 2013Carlos Munoz took an easy win in a mostly processional Indy Lights race at Barber Motorsports Park.

The Andretti driver started from pole and held his advantage throughout the race to finish just over five seconds clear of Jack Hawksworth, picking up his third career win.

The only significant position change came in the battle for third, where Gabby Chaves was able to get ahead of Sage Karam to complete the podium.

Karam had earlier been on the receiving end of a hit from Juan Pablo Garcia, an incident that resulted in the latter being issued a drive-through for avoidable contact, but he hounded Chaves right to the finish. The pair were split by just 0.1s at the flag, although they were more than 48s behind the winner.

Zach Veach fell out of the podium battle after suffering a puncture, leaving Jorge Goncalvez to finish fifth ahead of Peter Dempsey, Victor Carbone and Juan Pablo Garcia.

Results - 40 laps:

Pos  Driver             Team                 Time/Gap
 1.  Carlos Munoz       Andretti          51m19.4116s
 2.  Jack Hawksworth    Schmidt Peterson    + 5.0684s
 3.  Gabby Chaves       Schmidt Peterson   + 24.1356s
 4.  Sage Karam         Schmidt Peterson   + 42.1138s
 5.  Jorge Goncalvez    Belardi            + 42.2621s
 6.  Peter Dempsey      Belardi            + 42.9368s
 7.  Victor Carbone     Moore              + 43.2567s
 8.  Juan Pablo Garcia  Moore              + 48.6414s
 9.  Zach Veach         Andretti              + 1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Munoz takes another Lights pole