Find out more about our subscriptions

Rally Mexico: Sebastien Ogier leads from Mads Ostberg

Sebastien Ogier, VWSebastien Ogier and Mads Ostberg traded blows at the head of Rally Mexico through Friday's morning stages.

After establishing a 0.3s gap to Ostberg on Thursday, Ogier set about extending his lead immediately, gaining five seconds alone on the 15km SS3.

Ostberg nevertheless remained second, and on the short run to Las Minas he overturned Ogier's advantage to move into the overall lead.

With his Ford was more suited to the slower stuff Ostberg gained another half second on SS5, Los Mexicanos, only for Ogier to then blitz the morning's final stage and move back into the lead.

The VW man was nine seconds clear of the field on the final 30km stretch, restoring him to the lead of the rally.

Ostberg, who slowed for what he feared was a puncture in the final stages, still lies second, 11.8s down.

Mikko Hirvonen was second fastest on SS4 and SS6 but was ultimately unable to match Ogier's pace, surrendering more than 16 seconds on the four morning stages.

Thierry Neuville in fourth was the only other man to finish within one minute of Ogier as several frontrunners hit trouble.

Chief among them was Jari-Matti Latvala, whose rally ended 500m into the opening stage when he hit a rock and broke his front wishbone.

Chris Atkinson also suffered a similar incident but managed to continue, limiting the damage by finishing ninth or higher on the remaining three stages.

Evgeny Novikov also struggled on the run to El Cubilete, although an electrical ECU was to blame for his loss of around seven minutes.

He lies 13th overall, more than 12 minutes down on Ogier.

Leading positions after SS6:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1.  Sebastien Ogier     Volkswagen          58m48.6s
 2.  Mads Ostberg        M-Sport Ford        + 11.8s  
 3.  Mikko Hirvonen      Citroen             + 17.8s  
 4.  Thierry Neuville    M-Sport Ford        + 25.8s  
 5.  Dani Sordo          Citroen             + 1m04.4s
 6.  Nasser Al-Attiyah   M-Sport Ford        + 1m41.4s
 7.  Ken Block           Hoonigan Ford       + 2m11.8s
 8.  Benito Guerra       CRT Citroen         + 2m59.3s
 9.  Martin Prokop       Czech Ford          + 3m07.4s
10.  Michal Kosciuszko   Italia Mini         + 3m46.8s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Ogier secures Mexico victory
Neuville pledges to attack Hirvonen
Ogier gets time back from officials
Ogier's lead grows amid drama
Ostberg says comfortable podium lost
Ogier leaves rivals behind
Ostberg's Mexico victory bid ends
VW: Mexico no disaster for Latvala
Block in 'best ever' WRC form
M-Sport reassures 'incredible' Ostberg
Ogier leads into Saturday in Mexico
Ogier breaks away from Ostberg
Atkinson sure chance not squandered
Latvala drama raises fears for Ogier
Ogier tops Mexico street stages