Find out more about our subscriptions

IndyCar announces 2013 team subsidy list

Mid-Ohio IndyCar 2012IndyCar has announced the teams that will receive Leaders Circle contracts in 2013, with all 22 of the expected full-time entries having been granted the minimum $1 million subsidy.

The 19 confirmed returning entries that finished within the top 22 places in the 2012 standings have all been awarded contracts, while the series opted to fill the remaining three available contracts based on the remaining order of the standings.

This means Sarah Fisher Hartman, HVM and Dragon Racing are also included.

The process of awarding Leaders Circle contracts was criticised last year when the series invited entrants who did not receive contracts automatically to tender for the two made available by the departure of Newman/Haas.

Those were eventually awarded to Ed Carpenter Racing and Dragon Racing, at the expense of rivals including Bryan Herta Autosport and Ganassi's #83 entry for driver Charlie Kimball.

The inclusion of former Lotus-affiliated team HVM on the list of Leaders Circle entrants is a surprise after the squad indicated that its focus would be on its new World Endurance Championship programme with Status.

But recent reports suggest that it could revive its plans to return to IndyCar in partnership with another team.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT