Find out more about our subscriptions

AUTOSPORT Awards: Matheo Tuscher wins Rookie of the Year

Formula 2 runner-up Matheo Tuscher has been named as the Rookie of the Year at the AUTOSPORT Awards in London.

The 15-year-old Swiss denied Formula 1 drivers Daniel Ricciardo, Jean-Eric Vergne and Romain Grosjean to win the award, which is voted for by readers of

Tuscher joins a list of winners that includes former F1 world champions Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button, and the late Dan Wheldon.

Red Bull F1 team principal Christian Horner presented Tuscher with his award.

"When my manager called me and said I'd been nominated for an AUTOSPORT Award, I asked him 'What's an AUTOSPORT Award?'"

"I went to and saw the other nominees, F1 drivers, IndyCar and it was just incredible.

"My heart is going so fast right now. It's been an incredible season in F2 and we did a super job. Thanks to everyone that's supported me."

Tuscher stepped up into F2 after winning the 2011 Formula Pilota China championship, in which he claimed eight wins and nine podiums from 12 races.

Matheo Tuscher takes Silverstone F2 pole 2012After taking a sensational pole position for his series debut at Silverstone, Tuscher jumped into second place in the drivers' standings when he claimed a brace of second-placed finishes at the Algarve circuit.

He finished on the rostrum again at the Nurburgring, Spa and Brands Hatch, paving the way for a superb run-in. Over the final six races he won twice, claimed two second places and only once started lower than third.

He outscored all of his rivals over the final three events, and ended the year just 21.5 points shy of eventual champion Luciano Bacheta.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT