Find out more about our subscriptions

Valencia Moto2: Marc Marquez wins from the back of the grid

Marc Marquez wins at Valencia, Moto2 2012Marc Marquez capped off his Moto2 championship-winning season with an extraordinary ride from the back of the field to victory in a wet Valencia finale.

While the foundations were laid on the opening lap, when he charged through from 33rd to 11th in 14 turns, he still had a massive amount of work to do in the closing stages in order to close down a nine-second gap to runaway leader Julian Simon.

Marquez simply tore the advantage apart, gaining around one second per lap. With two laps to run he moved into the lead for the first time, and while Simon attempted a fightback, Marquez eased away on the final tour to claim his ninth win of the season by just over 1.2s.

It was also his last Moto2 race before he steps up into the premier class with Honda for 2013.

Simon finished second, having looked assured of a first Moto2 victory following his own superb ride at the front of the field.

Third meanwhile went to early leader Nico Terol, whose pace in the opening laps allowed him to break away from all but Simon and paved the way for a maiden Moto2 podium.

Thomas Luthi held off Dominique Aegerter for fourth, a battle that had also included Marquez and Gino Rea in the early stages.

Marc Marquez celebrates Valencia Moto3 winRea had been able to stay with and even move ahead of Marquez early on, having constructed his own fight from 20th on the grid, but with 12 laps to run he lost the front of his bike at the final turn trying to stay with the Spaniard.

Marquez and Aegerter had touched the lap before while braking for Turn 1, an incident for which Marquez immediately apologised.

Aegerter was the final significant obstacle Marquez faced: once past, he simply stormed away in a relentless and ultimately successful pursuit of victory.

Jordi Torres took a relatively quiet sixth ahead of Mika Kallio and Pol Espargaro, who triumphed in a seven-way fight for eighth.

The Spaniard, who finishes runner-up to Marquez in the championship, had earlier fallen while running fourth, and then fought his way back from 18th.

Andrea Iannone was also part of that fight and while he could only manage 11th he did enough to hang on to third in the championship, finishing three points ahead of Luthi.

Results - 27 laps:

Pos  Rider                 Team/Bike                 Time/Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez          Monlau Suter            48m50.706s
 2.  Julian Simon          Avintia Suter             + 1.256s
 3.  Nicolas Terol         Aspar Suter              + 11.372s
 4.  Thomas Luthi          Paddock Suter            + 13.006s
 5.  Dominique Aegerter    Technomag-CIP Suter      + 13.825s
 6.  Jordi Torres          Aspar Suter              + 27.911s
 7.  Mika Kallio           Marc VDS Kalex           + 36.338s
 8.  Pol Espargaro         Pons Kalex               + 38.335s
 9.  Toni Elias            Italtrans Kalex          + 39.419s
10.  Esteve Rabat          Pons Kalex               + 39.476s
11.  Andrea Iannone        Speed Master Speed Up    + 40.207s
12.  Gino Rea              Gresini Suter            + 41.197s
13.  Dani Rivas            TSR Kalex                + 41.768s
14.  Yuki Takahashi        Forward FTR              + 41.943s
15.  Ricard Cardus         Arguinano AJR            + 42.303s
16.  Bradley Smith         Tech 3                   + 43.064s
17.  Simone Corsi          Ioda FTR                 + 49.970s
18.  Tomoyoshi Koyama      Technomag-CIP Suter      + 51.639s
19.  Randy Krummenacher    Switzerland Kalex        + 53.198s
20.  Axel Pons             Pons Kalex               + 54.632s
21.  Marcel Schrotter      SAG Bimota               + 56.401s
22.  Scott Redding         Marc VDS Kalex           + 56.974s
23.  Alessandro Andreozzi  Speed Master Speed Up    + 59.679s
24.  Ratthapark Wilairot   Gresini Suter          + 1m16.201s
25.  Mattia Pasini         Forward FTR            + 1m16.352s
26.  Roman Ramos           SAG FTR                + 1m18.354s
27.  Xavier Simeon         Tech 3                 + 1m26.234s
28.  Mike di Meglio        Kiefer Kalex           + 1m29.530s
29.  Eric Granado          JIR Motobi                 + 1 lap
30.  Rafid Topan Sucipto   QMMF Speed Up             + 2 laps


     Elena Rosell          QMMF Speed Up              17 laps
     Takaaki Nakagami      Italtrans Kalex            14 laps
     Johann Zarco          JIR Motobi                 10 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Espargaro gets pole despite crash