Find out more about our subscriptions

Rockingham BTCC: Gordon Shedden heads Honda one-two at wet Rockingham

Gordon Shedden honda btcc rockingham 2012

Gordon Shedden led home team-mate Matt Neal in the second British Touring Car race at Rockingham as Honda dominated in wet conditions.

Andrew Jordan's Eurotech Honda and Rob Collard's WSR BMW both challenged MG driver Jason Plato, who started from pole as a result of his race one win, at the start.

As Jordan grabbed the lead, Collard forced his way by Plato at Yentwood, allowing Shedden to demote the MG to fourth.

An off by Andy Neate in the second MG then briefly brought out the safety car.

Jordan made a good restart, but immediately made a mistake at Deene, dropping to 11th and allowing Shedden into the lead.

After a skirmish with Neal, Plato overtook Collard for second, but the injured Neal soon followed him through.

The championship leader made it a Honda one-two by passing Plato just before half-distance and then pulled away in appalling conditions.

Towards the end Shedden slowed to allow Neal an extra point for leading a lap, before they took up their previous order.

Shedden thus took his seventh win of the season to move to within a point of Neal in the drivers' standings.

Behind Plato, Mat Jackson took fourth in Motorbase's NGTC Ford Focus despite an early off, while Frank Wrathall (Dynojet Toyota) completed the top five after starting on row six.

Aron Smith (Motorbase Ford) starred, going from last to six, despite some contact, and just held off the recovering Jordan.

Ollie Jackson also impressed in AmD's Volkswagen Golf, climbing to ninth from the rear of the field. He was promoted to eighth when Adam Morgan (Speedworks) made a late error and held the Toyota off to the flag.

Collard eventually fell behind team-mate Nick Foster and only just beat series debutant Howard Fuller in Tony Gilham Racing's S2000 Honda Civic for 11th.

Results - 18 laps:

Pos  Driver           Team/Car             Time/Gap
 1.  Gordon Shedden   Honda              30m28.745s
 2.  Matt Neal        Honda                + 0.966s
 3.  Jason Plato      MG                   + 6.115s
 4.  Mat Jackson      Motorbase Ford       + 9.215s
 5.  Frank Wrathall   Dynojet Toyota      + 12.323s
 6.  Aron Smith       Motorbase Ford      + 26.859s
 7.  Andrew Jordan    Eurotech Honda      + 27.967s
 8.  Ollie Jackson    AmD Volkswagen      + 39.196s
 9.  Adam Morgan      Speedworks Toyota   + 40.198s
10.  Nick Foster      WSR BMW             + 45.280s     
11.  Rob Collard      WSR BMW             + 47.736s
12.  Howard Fuller    Gilham Honda        + 48.220s
13.  Jeff Smith       Eurotech Honda      + 58.245s
14.  Tom Onslow-Cole  WSR BMW             + 59.070s
15.  Dave Newsham     ES Vauxhall       + 1m00.401s
16.  Rob Austin       Austin Audi       + 1m00.763s
17.  Tony Hughes      Speedworks Toyota + 1m09.835s
18.  Chris James      ES Vauxhall       + 1m41.878s

     Will Bratt       Austin Audi           15 laps
     Andy Neate       MG                     0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Shedden takes points lead with win
Plato takes Rockingham opener
Plato dominates for Rockingham pole
Plato quickest again in second practice
Plato leads opening practice