Find out more about our subscriptions

IRC Rally Zlin: Spectator fatality halts event, Juho Hanninen wins

Juho Hanninen, Skoda, Zlin 2012Juho Hanninen was declared the winner of Rally Zlin after it was stopped prior to the final stage when a spectator was killed.

Event organisers are in the process of issuing a statement but it is understood the deceased was standing in a non-spectator zone when the Subaru Impreza of Czech driver Vaclav Kopacek rolled several times.

Hanninen had been in a close fight with Skoda Motorsport team-mate Jan Kopecky starting the final day but edged 16.2 seconds clear when he beat Kopecky by more than 10s on stage 12, Majak.

But any hopes Kopecky had of fighting back on the next run, Halenkovice, ended when his Fabia Super 2000's engine failed after a handful of kilometres. The stage was subsequently cancelled following Kopacek's accident.

Andreas Mikkelsen was in third overall when a double puncture on the day's first stage dropped him to 10th. He was in eighth place when the rally was stopped.

Roman Kresta finished second following a close fight with Tomas Kostka, who led after Friday night's opening special.

Leading finishers after SS14:

Pos  Driver             Team/Car             Time/Gap
 1.  Juho Hanninen      Skoda              2h11m28.2s
 2.  Roman Kresta       Adell Mogul Skoda   + 1m43.1s
 3.  Tomas Kostka       Rufa Skoda          + 1m51.8s
 4.  Jaromir Tarabus    Ak Skoda            + 4m11.7s
 5.  Robert Barrable    CA1 Skoda           + 4m33.6s
 6.  Karl Kruuda        ME3 Skoda           + 5m03.0s
 7.  Andreas Aigner     Stohl Subaru        + 5m34.6s
 8.  Andreas Mikkelsen  Skoda UK            + 5m35.8s
 9.  Michal Solowow     Cersanit Peugeot    + 6m18.7s
10.  Sepp Wiegand       Skoda Deutschland   + 7m21.8s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hanninen on top in Skoda Zlin battle
Kostka leads IRC runners in Zlin