Find out more about our subscriptions

Salom prevails in thrilling Moto3 finish at Indianapolis, while Cortese extends points lead as Vinales falls

Luis Salom takes Indianapolis Moto3 leadLuis Salom scored his first Moto3 victory at Indianapolis, prevailing in a thrilling three-way last-lap scrap with championship leaders Sandro Cortese and Maverick Vinales.

Cortese (Ajo KTM) finished second but extended his points advantage over Vinales to 29 after the latter fell at the final turn.

It was the Avintia FTR-Honda rider who had made the early move in the race, breaking free of a pack of nine riders and forcing Cortese and Salom (RW Kalex-KTM) to take up the chase.

By the halfway mark the three had moved clear of a chasing group of five riders, swapping positions regularly as the race headed into the final stages.

Going into the last lap there was less than half a second to choose between the trio, with Cortese heading Vinales and Salom.

That all changed down the back straight, when Vinales got an excellent tow and dived down the inside - only to find Salom had done the same to him and jumped from third to first in an excellent move.

Cortese tried to respond but ran slightly wide hounding Salom and Vinales dived back down the inside, with the trio remaining locked together until the final turn when Vinales ran wide and lost the front of his bike.

Salom hung on to claim his first win in Moto3, 0.056 seconds ahead of Cortese, while Aspar's Jonas Folger inherited third, just over two seconds down the road.

Miguel Oliviera, Romano Fenati, Zulfahmi Khairuddin and Alex Rins all finished within eight seconds of the lead, having been part of the earlier nine-bike battle for first.

Results - 23 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike                   Time/Gap
 1.  Luis Salom           RW Kalex-KTM              42m14.300s
 2.  Sandro Cortese       Ajo KTM                     + 0.056s
 3.  Jonas Folger         Aspar Kalex-KTM             + 2.940s
 4.  Miguel Oliveira      Monlau Suter-Honda          + 3.067s
 5.  Romano Fenati        Italia FMI FTR-Honda        + 3.664s
 6.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo KTM                     + 7.663s
 7.  Alex Rins            Monlau Suter-Honda          + 7.697s
 8.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta FTR-Honda          + 11.203s
 9.  Alberto Moncayo      Laglisse FTR-Honda         + 11.242s
10.  Alexis Masbou        Caretta Honda              + 13.163s
11.  Arthur Sissis        Ajo KTM                    + 23.362s
12.  Danny Kent           Ajo KTM                    + 24.364s
13.  Louis Rossi          Germany FTR-Honda          + 25.001s
14.  Isaac Vinales        Ongetta FTR-Honda          + 31.211s
15.  Alessandro Tonucci   Italia FMI FTR-Honda       + 34.179s
16.  Toni Finsterbusch    MZ Honda                 + 1m12.945s
17.  Giulian Pedone       Ambrogio Suter-Honda     + 1m14.428s
18.  Kenta Fujii          Technomag-CIP TSR-Honda  + 1m14.709s
19.  Armando Pontone      Ioda                     + 1m15.326s
20.  Riccardo Moretti     Mahindra                     + 1 lap


     Maverick Vinales     Avintia FTR-Honda            22 laps
     Alan Techer          Technomag-CIP TSR-Honda      15 laps
     Efren Vazquez        Laglisse FTR-Honda           11 laps
     Luigi Morciano       Ioda Italia                  10 laps
     Alex Marquez         Ambrogio Suter-Honda          6 laps
     Brad Binder          RW Kalex-KTM                  3 laps
     Adrian Martin        Laglisse FTR-Honda            0 laps
     Jasper Iwema         FGR Honda                     0 laps
     Niccolo Antonelli    Gresini FTR-Honda             0 laps
     Niklas Ajo           TT Motion KTM                    DSQ
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Cortese denies Kent Indy Moto3 pole